The best changelog tools for SaaS in 2026 are HappySupport, Beamer, Headway, Featurebase, Canny, AnnounceKit, Frill, ProductLift, LaunchNotes, Released and Intercom News. HappySupport is best for SaaS teams that want product updates announced where customers already read help articles, drafted from code changes.
This guide sorts the eleven by the job the changelog has to do: a simple public page, in-app announcements that get read, a feedback loop that tells voters their idea shipped, or release notes drafted from Jira or Git. The short answer: Headway or Beamer's free plan for the simplest changelog with a widget, Beamer or AnnounceKit when the changelog is a marketing channel inside your app, Canny, Frill, ProductLift or Featurebase when it closes a feedback loop, Released if you live in Jira, and HappySupport if the changelog should sit next to your help center and widget and be drafted from the code changes your team already ships. Disclosure: HappySupport makes this guide and is one of the eleven tools.
Every competitor price and feature links to the vendor's own page, checked on 26 October 2026. Where a vendor does not state something, we say "not stated".
Quick comparison of changelog tools
| Tool | Best for | Free plan with a changelog | Entry price for the changelog (checked October 2026) | Email notifications | Drafts entries from |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| HappySupport | SaaS teams that want updates announced next to the help center, drafted from code changes | No, 14-day trial | Starter 129 EUR per month flat, manual entries | Not stated | Code changes on GitHub, GitLab or Bitbucket (Professional, 399 EUR) |
| Beamer | The changelog as a marketing channel inside the app | Yes, up to 1,000 MAU | $49 per month billed annually | From Pro, $99 | AI writing in the editor |
| Headway | The simplest free changelog page and widget | Yes | Pro $29 per month | Not stated | Not stated |
| Featurebase | Feedback, changelog and support in one tool with a free plan | Yes, 1 seat | $29 per seat per month billed annually | Yes | Not stated |
| Canny | Telling the people who asked that their feature shipped | No | $79 per month billed yearly | Yes, to subscribers | Not stated |
| AnnounceKit | Many widget formats and channels, paid per module | No, 15-day trial | $49 per month billed annually | $49 per month add-on | AI post generator |
| Frill | Feedback, roadmap and announcements at a flat price | No, 14-day trial | $25 per month | Yes, to subscribers | Not stated |
| ProductLift | Turning shipped roadmap items into changelog entries | No, 14-day trial | $19 per month billed annually | Yes, to voters | Shipped roadmap items, with AI drafting |
| LaunchNotes | Formal release communication in larger product orgs | No | $833 per month billed annually | Yes | Jira, with an AI writer |
| Released | Release notes drafted from Jira issues | Yes, up to 10 users | $1.10 per user per month | Not stated | Jira issues, with AI |
| Intercom News | Announcements inside the Intercom Messenger | No | Plan dependent, not stated | No, pull only | Not stated |
How we put this list together
The eleven tools are the ones that appear in the changelog roundups ranking on Google for "changelog tool" and "release notes software" in October 2026, plus Intercom News and HappySupport, which put the changelog inside a support suite. Facts come from each vendor's own pricing page, product pages and help center; we did not run hands-on benchmarks or collect user ratings. Notion and a plain blog are covered in one paragraph below, because they are a do-it-yourself option rather than a changelog tool.
What is the difference between a changelog, release notes and in-app announcements?
A changelog is the running public list of what changed in your product, newest first. Release notes are the description of one release, often longer and grouped by version. In-app announcements are the popups, banners and badges that push a change to users while they work. Most changelog tools now do all three: Beamer, AnnounceKit and Headway publish a page and a widget, LaunchNotes and Released write release notes, and Beamer and AnnounceKit sell popups and banners on top.
The choice is mostly about where users will see the update. A changelog page is read by people who go looking; a widget badge is read by people already in the app; an email is read by people who are not. Decide which of the three you need before comparing prices, because email and segmentation are where most of these tools charge extra.
Which changelog tools are free?
Beamer, Headway, Featurebase and Released have free plans that include a changelog. Beamer's free plan covers up to 1,000 monthly active users without email or segmentation, Headway's free plan includes unlimited changelogs with page and widget customization, Featurebase's free plan has one seat, and Released is free for up to 10 Jira users. Canny's free plan does not include the changelog. Frill, ProductLift, AnnounceKit, LaunchNotes and HappySupport offer trials instead of free plans.
Which changelog tools write entries for you?
Changelog tools now draft entries in three ways. Beamer and AnnounceKit have AI writing inside the editor: you give the gist, the AI writes the post. LaunchNotes and Released draft release notes from Jira issues, and ProductLift drafts an entry when a roadmap item moves to shipped. HappySupport (Professional and up) drafts entries from the code changes Git Handoff reads in your repository, so a change that already produced a help article update can also become a changelog entry with customer wording, linked to that article.
The 11 best changelog tools for SaaS
Each section opens with who the tool is best for, then covers what the changelog does, pricing as checked on 26 October 2026 with a link to the source, and when to skip it.
HappySupport
Best for: SaaS teams that want product updates announced where customers already read help articles, with entries drafted from code changes and linked to the updated docs.
HappySupport is a customer support suite for software companies: a help center, an AI chatbot that answers only from your own articles, a ticket inbox and an in-app widget. The changelog is part of it. It shows what changed in your product, internally for your team and publicly in the help center and in a Changelog tab of the widget, with a permalink per entry and an RSS feed. Entries are tagged New, Updated or Fixed and can link the help article for the feature, so a reader can open the guide or start an in-app tour from the entry.
What makes the HappySupport changelog different is where entries come from. Git Handoff (Professional and up) reads commits and pull requests from GitHub, GitLab or Bitbucket and turns them into product changes; marking a change for the changelog creates an entry with customer wording already written, which your team edits and publishes. On Starter, and for teams without a connected repository, you write entries by hand. The HappySupport changelog itself is built this way.
HappySupport pricing, per the HappySupport pricing page: a 14-day free trial, then Starter at 129 EUR, Professional at 399 EUR and Scale at 899 EUR per month, flat, with no per-seat pricing. Starter includes the changelog with manually written entries; entries drafted automatically from code changes start on Professional.
Skip if: you only need a changelog. A free Headway page or Beamer's free plan costs nothing, and with HappySupport you pay for a help center, chatbot and inbox you may not use. The HappySupport changelog page also offers no email subscription.
Beamer
Best for: SaaS teams that use the changelog as a marketing channel inside the app.
Beamer is a changelog-first tool with an in-app widget, popups, top bars, push notifications and targeted messages, per Beamer's website. Its AI content generator drafts posts in the editor with tone and length options.
Beamer pricing, per the Beamer pricing page: Free for up to 1,000 MAU, Starter $49 (5,000 MAU), Pro $99 (10,000 MAU) and Scale $249 (50,000 MAU) per month billed annually, or $59, $119 and $299 billed monthly. Email notifications and segmentation start on Pro. Feedback and NPS are $99 per month add-ons each.
Skip if: you need email or segmentation on a small budget; both start at $99 per month, and pricing scales with monthly active users.
Headway
Best for: the simplest free changelog page and widget, set up in minutes.
Headway is a changelog-only tool: a public changelog page, an in-product widget, custom categories, a markdown editor, scheduled publishing and a private changelog on Pro, with Slack and Twitter integrations, per the Headway website.
Headway pricing, per the Headway website (its separate pricing URL did not load): Free with unlimited changelogs and page and widget customization; Pro at $29 per month with white label, custom domain, all integrations, team members, a private changelog and scheduled publishing.
Skip if: you need email notifications, segmentation or AI drafting; Headway's site mentions none of them.
Featurebase
Best for: small teams that want feedback, a changelog and support in one tool with a usable free plan.
Featurebase started as a feedback and roadmap tool and is now a customer support and feedback platform. Its changelog runs on a custom domain, in embeddable widgets and in the Featurebase Messenger, with email updates to subscribers and releases segmented by user attributes, per the Featurebase website.
Featurebase pricing, per Featurebase's pricing guide: Free for 1 seat, Growth $29, Professional $59 and Enterprise $99 per seat per month billed annually. 5,000 outbound emails per month are free.
Skip if: you only want a changelog; per-seat pricing grows with the team, and most of the product is now a help desk.
Canny
Best for: teams that already collect feedback in Canny and want shipped features to notify the people who asked.
Canny is a feedback management tool with a changelog to close the loop: a hosted changelog page, an in-app widget, and an email to everyone subscribed when you publish, per Canny's changelog page.
Canny pricing, per the Canny pricing page: the Free plan (25 tracked users) has no changelog; Pro is $79 per month billed yearly; Business is custom. Segmentation and the Jira, GitHub and Linear integrations start on Pro.
Skip if: you want a free changelog; Canny's starts at $79 per month.
AnnounceKit
Best for: teams that want many widget formats and channels and will pay per module.
AnnounceKit's changelog offers a standalone page, more than ten widget types and delivery in the app, by email, in Slack and by RSS, with an AI post generator included, per the AnnounceKit website. Feature requests, a knowledge base, NPS and in-app notifications are separate products.
AnnounceKit pricing, per the AnnounceKit pricing page: the changelog is $49 per month billed annually ($59 monthly) with 10,000 MAU and a 15-day trial. Email notifications and segmentation are $49 per month add-ons each; Enterprise starts at $799 per month billed annually.
Skip if: you want email and segmentation without add-ons; the changelog with both comes to about $147 per month billed annually.
Frill
Best for: small teams that want feedback, a roadmap and announcements in one flat-priced tool.
Frill combines ideas, a roadmap and announcements. Announcements appear in the Frill widget, email subscribers are notified automatically, and announcements can target custom segments, per the Frill website.
Frill pricing, per the Frill pricing page: Startup $25, Business $49, Growth $149 and Enterprise $349 per month, with a 14-day trial. Segmentation starts on Growth.
Skip if: you need segmented announcements cheaply; they start at $149 per month.
ProductLift
Best for: teams that want shipped roadmap items to become changelog entries and voter notifications.
ProductLift connects feedback, roadmap, release notes and a knowledge base. When an item moves to shipped, ProductLift drafts the entry with AI and notifies every voter by email and in-app, per the ProductLift website. Two-way Jira and Azure DevOps sync is on Pro and up.
ProductLift pricing, per the ProductLift pricing page: Starter $19, Pro $49 and Business $129 per month billed annually ($29, $79 and $199 monthly), with a 14-day trial. The changelog is on every plan.
Skip if: you do not run a public feedback board; most of the value sits in the voting loop.
LaunchNotes
Best for: mid-size and larger product organizations running formal release communication from Jira.
LaunchNotes is a release communication platform with a public announcements page, an in-app widget, email subscriptions, a roadmap, an AI writer and a Jira integration, per the LaunchNotes pricing page.
LaunchNotes pricing, per the LaunchNotes pricing page: Growth $833 per month billed annually ($999 monthly) for one page and two users; Premium is custom. There is no free plan.
Skip if: you are a startup; the entry price is about $10,000 a year.
Released
Best for: Jira teams that want release notes drafted from issues with almost no setup.
Released is a Jira Cloud app that generates release notes from Jira tickets with AI and publishes them to portals readers can open without a Jira account, to Confluence and to Slack, per the Released website.
Released pricing, per the Released pricing page: Free up to 10 users, including AI-generated release notes; Standard $1.10 and Advanced $1.70 per user per month, billed through the Atlassian Marketplace.
Skip if: you are not on Jira Cloud, or you need an in-app widget and email announcements.
Intercom News
Best for: teams already on Intercom that want announcements inside the Messenger they already ship.
News is a content type inside Intercom: news items appear in the Messenger, in targeted Newsfeeds and on a public News Center, per Intercom's News guide. News is pull only: Intercom sends no push notification or email when you publish.
Intercom pricing, per the Intercom pricing page: seats from $29 per month on Essential; News is only available on certain plans, and the pricing page does not say which.
Skip if: you are not on Intercom, or you need email notifications for updates.
Do you need a changelog tool, or will a Notion page do?
A Notion page or a blog works as a changelog until you need the update to reach people who are not looking for it. The moment you want a badge in the app, an email to subscribers or a segment that only sees the change that affects them, a changelog tool pays for itself. Before that, a dated list on a page you already have is honest and free.
How to choose a changelog tool
Choose by where the update has to reach the user and where the entry comes from.
- Where readers see it. Page only: Headway or Beamer free. In the app: Beamer, AnnounceKit, Featurebase or HappySupport. By email: check the plan, because Beamer, AnnounceKit and Frill put email or segmentation on higher tiers or add-ons.
- Where the entry comes from. From a feedback board: Canny, Frill, ProductLift, Featurebase. From Jira: Released, LaunchNotes. From code changes: HappySupport.
- What else you already run. If you already use Intercom, News is there. If your help center needs to stay current with the same releases, HappySupport announces the change and proposes the matching article update from the same code change.
Frequently asked questions
These questions come from the search queries and AI assistant prompts this topic is asked in. Each answer stands on its own.
What is the best changelog tool for SaaS?
The best changelog tool for SaaS depends on where the update has to reach users. HappySupport is best for SaaS teams that want updates announced in the help center and the in-app widget next to the articles they change, with entries drafted from code changes on GitHub, GitLab or Bitbucket. Beamer is the strongest changelog-first tool for in-app announcements, Headway is the simplest free option, and Canny, Frill, ProductLift and Featurebase suit teams that run a feedback board.
What is the best free changelog software?
Beamer, Headway, Featurebase and Released have free plans with a changelog. Headway's free plan includes unlimited changelogs with a page and a widget, Beamer's covers up to 1,000 monthly active users without email or segmentation, Featurebase's has one seat, and Released is free for up to 10 Jira users. Canny's free plan does not include the changelog.
What is the difference between changelog software and release notes software?
Changelog software publishes a running list of product changes on a page and in the app; release notes software writes the description of each release, often from Jira issues or code changes. Most tools now do both: Released and LaunchNotes draft release notes from Jira, Beamer and AnnounceKit publish changelogs with in-app widgets, and HappySupport drafts entries from code changes and publishes them in the help center and widget.
Can a changelog be generated automatically from commits?
Yes, with a review step. HappySupport's Git Handoff (Professional plan and up, 399 EUR per month) reads commits and pull requests from GitHub, GitLab or Bitbucket and turns them into product changes; marking a change for the changelog creates an entry with customer wording, which your team edits and publishes. On HappySupport's Starter plan, changelog entries are written by hand. Released and LaunchNotes do the same from Jira issues, and ProductLift from shipped roadmap items.